Conference Themes & Venues
Inauguration of Solar Energy Society of Nigeria, SESN * 1980 * Projects Development Institute (PRODA), Enugu:::::Solar Energy Systems for Rural Development * 1987 * University of Lagos, Akoka Lagos:::::The Sun in the Service of Humanity * 1988 * Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna:::::Solar Energy in Structural Adjustment Programme * 1989 * University of Nigeria, Nsukka:::::Solar Systems in the Service of Rural Communities * 1990 * Polytechnic of Sokoto State:::::Solar Energy Technology for Sustainable Development * 1992 * Sokoto Energy Research Centre, SERC, UDUS:::::Solar Energy Utilization for Technological Development in the Third Republic. * 1993 * Abubakar Tafawa Belewa University, Bauchi:::::Dissemination of Solar Energy Infrastructure for National Development * 1994 * University of Nigeria, Nsukka:::::The Role of Solar Energy in Realization of Vision 2010 * 1997 * University of Agriculture, Makurdi:::::Promoting the Growth of Local Solar Energy Industries in the 21st Millennium * 1999 * University of Ilorin :::::Integration of Solar Energy into the National Energy Mix in the 21st Century. * 2000 * Sokoto Energy Research Centre, SERC UDUS:::::From Research to Dissemination for National Development * 2003 * National Centre for Energy Research and Development, NCERD, UNN.:::::No conference / Forum * 2004 * No NASEF:::::Solar Energy in a Deregulated Economy * 2005 * University of Benin, Benin City:::::Energizing the Nigerian Populace Through Solar Energy * 2006 * Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka:::::Harnessing Solar Energy for Rural Development * 2007 * Energy Commission of Nigeria, ECN, Abuja:::::Mainstreaming Solar Energy into the Nations Energy Mix * 2008 * University of Ibadan:::::The Role of Solar Energy in the Agricultural Development of Nigeria. * 2009 * University of Agriculture, Makurdi, /Benue State Government :::::The role of Solar Energy in the Technological Development of Nigeria * 2010 * Federal University of Technology Owerri.:::::

Welcome to SESN

The Solar Energy Society of Nigeria (SESN) was inaugurated in March 1980 at the Project Development Institute (PRODA) Enugu. By 11th July of the same year, the Society was officially launched at a brief ceremony performed by the then Deputy Governor of old Anambra State, Engr. A.S. Umenyi, assisted by the then Honourable Commissioner for Technology, Imo State, Chief Oji O. Okereke.

The pioneer members of the Society include such prominent peoples as Professor A.O.E. Animalu (foundation President of the SESN), Professor G.O. Ezekwe (the then Director, PRODA, Enugu), Professor C.C.O. Ezeilo (University of Nigeria), Professor U.A. Akinsote (University of Lagos), Professor R.I. Salawu (University of Lagos), Professor N.I. Ngoka (formerly of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife and later Enugu State University of Technology (ESUT) Enugu, Professor A.T. Sulaiman (Past President, SESN and former Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Yola) and a host of others. read more

Aims and Objectives

To provide medium for national and international dissemination of Solar Energy in particular, and other Energy Sources in general, and their applications in Nigeria and elsewhere. more...


Please wait ... searching journal directory Wait