The Federal University of Technology, Owerri was established in October 1980 and was the first of the three such Federal Universities of Technology set up by the Federal Government of Nigeria. The University operated for many years at its temporary site at the Lake Nwaebere Campus until 1992 when it moved to its permanent site situated South of the new Owerri township area. The University is surrounded by four autonomous communities namely, Ihiagwa, Eziobodo, Okolochi and Obinze.
The Otamiri river traverses the site from North to South and with beautiful vegetation. The development of the permanent site commenced at the instance of the first Vice Chancellor, Prof. U.D. Gomwalk. The second, third and fourth Vice Chancellor who also moved the University forward were Prof. Jude E. Njoku respectively.
Presently, the University leadership is under the fifth substantive Vice Chancellor, Prof. C.O.E. Onwuliri who has concretized the gains of the previous Vice Chancellors. Now, the University has six schools namely, School of Science which is the oldest School, School of Engineering and Engineering Technology, School of Management Technology, School of Health Technologies and School of Post Graduates.